A photographic study of the stones marking the boundary of Grinton civil parish, and the interpretation of the fascinating inscriptions thereon, is a work in progress.
The River Swale marks one side of the parish, while two of the other three sides coincide with the ancient boundary of Grinton ecclesiastical parish and the Forest of Swaledale. Therefore the boundary stones on these two sides pre-date the formation of the civil parish in 1897. The oldest found so far can be dated to 1663, but not all of them have yet been visited.
There are stories to be told about these stones and their inscriptions, and they will appear on this page at a later date.